Published Nov 9, 2026, 6:30 AM EST Tyler is an journalist and content contributor at How-To Geek with over three years of experience covering the automotive and tech industries. His work focuses on delivering clear, well-researched, and engaging content that helps readers better understand the vehicles they drive and the technology that they use everyday. Before entering automotive media, he spent five years as an academic editor, developing a strong foundation in research methodology, factual accuracy, and structured analysis. This background informs his journalistic approach today, ensuring that every article balances technical insight with accessibility for a broad audience. Sign in to your How-To Geek account Google is a company that has been in hot water more than a handful of times over the last couple of years for its blasé approach to privacy. It feels like mainstream media is constantly running stories about some new way Google has overstepped. The latest is that the company has been quietly verifying your phone number and automatically linking it to every Google account you're logged in to. There has been no prompt to ask whether or not you want to opt into this service. It just happened. While this might not seem like all that big of an issue on the surface, I wouldn't blame you for feeling like your privacy was infringed upon. You may have seen a notification that your number has been linked Who asked, Google? I was pretty surprised the other day when I woke up to a notification on my Samsung kindly letting me know that my phone number had been automatically verified and linked to my Google account. This didn't just happen for my main Google account, but for every Google account that was signed in on my device. This is part of a rollout that you would likely have seen on your own device, with Google claiming that the aim is to make it easier for people to reach you. The problem here is that this was done completely automatically and without any consent. Alongside making it easier for people to contact you via video call or text, Google states that this change makes account recovery easier and streamlines sign-in authentication across devices. In the email that they sent, the company says that they will periodically verify numbers in the background, and that this could mean you incur SMS or data charges. I can understand the potential benefits of having your phone number automatically linked, but this wasn't a feature that anyone was really asking for. More importantly, it was done automatically, without any request for consent, which is a pretty big violation of privacy in my opinion. You at least have the option of opting out of the service It is after the fact, though At the very least, Google does go over how you can opt out of this service in the email notification that they sent out. It isn't the most difficult process, but it is dumb that you're only given the choice of opting out after they've already linked your number. If you're concerned about your privacy and decide that you want to turn off this service, you're going to want to go into the main settings menu on your device. Look for the Google or Google services tab and tap into it. You're then going to want to select All services and then scroll down until you find Privacy and security. Here, you should see an option for Phone number verification. In this menu, you can toggle the service off after you input your security PIN. The caveat here is that switching this toggle off only prevents future linking; it doesn't remove your phone number from the profiles that it has already been linked to. To achieve this, you're going to need to go into the settings for each of your signed-in Google accounts and unlink your number. You need to Manage your Google Account, look for Personal info, scroll down to Contact info or Phone, and then delete your phone number. You can alternatively change what Google uses your phone number for in this menu. Repeat these steps for every Google account signed in to your device. Google continues to disrespect the privacy of its users The latest in a long line of questionable moves There are a ton of reasons why someone might not want their phone number linked to every single Google account that they're signed in to. It means that there is a lack of account separation, with work, personal, and shared accounts being combined into a single identifiable profile. It also feels like a pretty obvious ploy to refine personalized advertising profiles, drawing data points from multiple accounts. The fact that they also state that this service could incur carrier charges is also crazy. If it's something I could potentially be charged for, then why wouldn't I be given the option to opt out beforehand? This service can definitely benefit the user, but you should always have a choice when it comes to handing over your personal information. This is just one of many cases where Google has handled user information without consent. This is the reality that we live in We've become quite desensitized to behavior like this in 2026. It doesn't spark the same outrage it used to, and people are much more accepting that these things are part of modern life. Personally, I still feel really disappointed when stuff like this happens. All of my information shouldn't just be fair game to companies like Google just because I use their services. Perhaps that makes me a little bit old-fashioned. It would be nice if they at least asked, though.
Your phone number is now tied to all your Google accounts, and you never agreed to it
Full Article
Original Source
Read the full article at Howtogeek →KhanList aggregates and links to publicly available news content. We do not host full articles from third-party sources. Always verify important information with original sources.